Chrysalis House, Inc. in Crownsville, MD

Overall Rating

(3.4 of 5)
Treatment Effectiveness
Accommodations & Amenities
Meals & Nutrition
1570 Crownsville Road
Crownsville MD 21032

Chrysalis House, Inc. Philosophy

Chrysalis House provides a safe, sober, and structured environment where women receive counseling, life skills training, parenting skills education, case management, and recreational activities. Chrysalis House’s mission is to aid women through their addiction and mental health treatment, while helping them build a strong foundation in recovery, become better mothers, and learn to be financially stable.

Areas of Specialization

  • Residential Treatment
    Residential treatment programs provide housing (food and meals) in addition to treatment for substance abuse. Some facilities offer only short-term residential treatment, some offer only long-term treatment and others offer both, ranging from a few days to many months, based on patient needs.

  • Dual Diagnosis/ Co-Occurring Disorders Treatment
    These two terms describe a person who is not only addicted to drugs or alcohol, but also has a mental or emotional illness, such as depression, anxiety, bipolar disorder, etc. Facilities that treat patients with dual-diagnosis or co-occurring disorders provide psychiatric treatment in addition to drug and alcohol rehabilitation services.

Facility Highlights

Relapse Prevention

Therapeutic Recreation

Substance Abuse Education 360 Guide

Review by Contributors


Chrysalis House, Inc. operates three residential facilities in Maryland for women with issues of substance use or mental health issues over the age of 18 and their children. This Crownsville facility offers long-term residential care. To be eligible for admission, clients must have gone through detox five days prior to admission and they must be referred by addiction treatment programs, social workers, courts, or other service providers. Medical detoxification is not available on-site.


Chrysalis House’s programs aim to foster self-discipline, self-respect, cooperation, and consideration for others. Treatment uses 12-step programming along with individual and group counseling, family counseling, and trauma-informed counseling. There’s also a range of educational topics such as relapse prevention, parenting skills, life skills development, and therapeutic recreation.

Chrysalis also has a program in Baltimore for non-violent, pregnant offenders called Healthy Start, as well as transitional living services and a 26-week outpatient program known as W.A.T.C.H.


There are no medical professionals on staff. The website indicates that Chrysalis employs licensed counselors. Three alumni polled by to date rated staff's level of experience and training one, three, and five out of five stars.


Because clients' children can stay with them during treatment, childcare is provided on-site. Chrysalis also includes mother/child activities and transportation services. Three survey respondents to date gave mixed ratings for the quality and cleanliness of the accommodations, with two reviewers rating the center five out of five stars and one rating it only one star.


To date, alumni reviews submitted to are mixed. Four alumni rated Chrysalis's overall quality of care an average three out of five stars, with one alum rating it only one star and the other three rating it three, four, and five stars. On the positive side, two alumni rated Chrysalis House four- and five-star ratings in holistic treatment offerings and the quality of group counseling.

Yet others criticized the lack of structure in the program, and three were split on the facility's connectivity and visitor policy, rating it one, three, and five stars in that category. Alum K.E.T. rated the facility only one out of five stars in 15 different metrics and wrote: “There was no structure. The staff was inexperienced and/or over worked. It was all about money.”

On Facebook, where facilities can manage their own pages, the center had an aggregate rating of 4.7 out of five stars based on 37 reviews at the time of this writing.[1] Several reviewers praised the center for its staff and treatment of mothers and children. Erin wrote: “My experience was great. It wasn't easy … But it did give me the foundation of recovery on which I am building my life.”

Six Google reviewers to date rated Chrysalis an average 3.2 out of five stars, with two reviewers rating it only one star, one rating it two stars, and three rating it five out of five stars.[2] Reviewers complained of poor treatment and unprofessional child care, while positive Google users commended the caring staff and attention paid toward client mothers.


Staff reviews are much more positive. On Indeed, ten reviewers to date rated Chrysalis an average 4.3 out of five stars.[3] One Indeed reviewer praised the “rewarding work while helping people become better.” Another highlighted the level of compassion, saying: “Mission is a great cause.”


Chrysalis’s website indicates that insurance is accepted. Healthgrove reports that state insurance other than Medicaid and military insurance was also accepted, and that the facility offered sliding scale fees.


Published on September 2017

User Reviews

Review this Center

Please note: Anyone attempting to manipulate or spam our system or the providers’ own listing pages risks having all content removed.

  • Treatment Effectiveness
  • Accommodations & Amenities
  • Meals & Nutrition
Their expectations are high. It’s tough . They tell you up front it’s difficult. Lots don’t make it. They teach them about consequences. Even girls that had consequences still sang the praises of the staff and facilities. Sometimes family is a trigger for an addict so the distance from family is understandable. Chrysalis House does not just treat the symptoms. The find out the problem that triggers the addict taking their abuse of choice. Who is better experienced and have been addicts themselves. They can spot the lies an manipulation attempts. Unless something unexpected happens I feel my daughter is in good hands.

  • Treatment Effectiveness
  • Accommodations & Amenities
  • Meals & Nutrition
Frankly I was disappointed, as a parent of an addict, I very much felt left in the dark, what started out as on phone family counseling ended, sorry I disagree with your methods, I have dealt with 2 drug addicts, im not exactly dumb, I also feel mixed messages are sent to those that have children, but do not have custody of them due to their bad choices, my daughter begged me to give her the children,im so glad I didnt! since she is no longer there , I dont get court ordered and then you just let her walk out! I just do not feel this place is family oriented, remember drug addiction is a family disease, it affects everyone, I think rehabs tend to lose sight of that, and the staff is very rude, another thing that needs to be worked on, my daughter had many issues going on, I have a problem with dual diagnosis , mental illness needs to be a part of the recovery process .

  • Treatment Effectiveness
  • Accommodations & Amenities
  • Meals & Nutrition
This place is a disgrace. The head guy is a joke and the staff is unprofessional. I would avoid this place if you can. Go somewhere else.

  • Treatment Effectiveness
  • Accommodations & Amenities
  • Meals & Nutrition
Very strong staff. However, structure was a weakness. This place saved my life! Ive been clean over 3 years now and I thank it all to the experience I had at the chrysalis house!

  • Treatment Effectiveness
  • Accommodations & Amenities
  • Meals & Nutrition
Great staff support and has good holistic offerings.

  • Treatment Effectiveness
  • Accommodations & Amenities
  • Meals & Nutrition
Chrysalis House saved my life. I am so appreciative of the sisters I made and the new life they have given me.

  • Treatment Effectiveness
  • Accommodations & Amenities
  • Meals & Nutrition
There was no structure. The staff was inexperienced and/or over worked. It was all about money. Main complaint was the staff.

Official Facility Response

Chrysalis House strives to create an environment that is safe, structured, and informative for each client. We are sorry that you had a less than adequate experience and hope that you had informed the staff of these issues during the exit interview.

Disclaimer is a third-party resource for consumers seeking addiction treatment.

We list thousands of treatment providers throughout the U.S., often including alumni and staff ratings and reviews, and 360 Guides that provide valuable information for people making difficult decisions. is not influenced in regards to its ratings or reviews by any treatment center or its sponsors, and we clearly designate advertiser relationships with "Sponsor" or "Ad" or "Advertisement”.

Official Facility Response collects thousands of User Reviews weekly to collect the most up-to-date information possible on treatment facilities across the country. The opinions shared in User Reviews are expressly those of the user, and do not reflect the thoughts, beliefs, or opinions of Per our policies, we do not remove User Reviews at the request of a facility.

Treatment facilities can and are encouraged to respond directly to any User Review, positive or negative. In fact, visitors are more likely to favorably consider a facility that actively responds to criticism (and praise!) to one that doesn’t.

Please leave your Facility Response below using a verified facility-specific email address. A representative from will vet your response within two business days to ensure it meets our standards for public posting. retains the right to contact anyone who leaves a review via our website to confirm authenticity.

As always, thank you for your feedback, and for your willingness to work with us as we move forward in developing the most comprehensive and trusted rehab reviews and listings platform.

For more details, please read about our Reviews Process.