Chrysalis House, Inc. in Crownsville, MD

Overall Rating

(3.4 of 5)
Treatment Effectiveness
Accommodations & Amenities
Meals & Nutrition
1570 Crownsville Road
Crownsville MD 21032

Chrysalis House, Inc. Philosophy

Chrysalis House provides a safe, sober, and structured environment where women receive counseling, life skills training, parenting skills education, case management, and recreational activities. Chrysalis House’s mission is to aid women through their addiction and mental health treatment, while helping them build a strong foundation in recovery, become better mothers, and learn to be financially stable.

Areas of Specialization

  • Residential Treatment
    Residential treatment programs provide housing (food and meals) in addition to treatment for substance abuse. Some facilities offer only short-term residential treatment, some offer only long-term treatment and others offer both, ranging from a few days to many months, based on patient needs.

  • Dual Diagnosis/ Co-Occurring Disorders Treatment
    These two terms describe a person who is not only addicted to drugs or alcohol, but also has a mental or emotional illness, such as depression, anxiety, bipolar disorder, etc. Facilities that treat patients with dual-diagnosis or co-occurring disorders provide psychiatric treatment in addition to drug and alcohol rehabilitation services.

Facility Highlights

Relapse Prevention

Therapeutic Recreation

Substance Abuse Education

Rehabs.com 360 Guide

Review by Rehabs.com Contributors

ABOUT CHRYSALIS HOUSE, INC.

Chrysalis House, Inc. operates two residential treatment centers in Maryland for women and mothers with children struggling with substance use or mental health conditions. The Crownsville facility offers long-term residential care. To be eligible to attend, clients must have gone through detox five days prior to admission and be referred by addiction treatment programs, social workers, courts, or other service providers. Medical detoxification is not available on-site.

Within the state, Chrysalis House is among 56.3 percent of substance abuse treatment facilities with specially tailored programs for adult women. It is also one of 10 programs that provides residential beds for clients’ children and one of 21 facilities that provides child care.

TREATMENT & ASSESSMENT

Chrysalis House’s programs aim to foster self-discipline, self-respect, cooperation, and consideration for others. Treatment uses 12-step programming along with individual and group counseling, family counseling, and trauma-informed counseling. They provide a range of educational sessions on topics such as relapse prevention, parenting skills, life skills development, and therapeutic recreation.

Chrysalis also includes mother/child activities, which may include play therapy, and developmental activities may be available to children of clients during treatment. Chrysalis also has a program in Baltimore for non-violent, pregnant offenders called Healthy Start.

STAFF CREDENTIALS

Chrysalis House is among 32.6 percent of substance abuse treatment facilities in Maryland accredited by the Commission of Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF). The organization’s website indicates there are no medical professionals on staff and that Chrysalis House employs licensed counselors.

ACCOMMODATIONS & AMENITIES

Clients may bring two children with them less than 10 years of age at the time of admission. As clients' children can stay during residential treatment, child care is provided on-site.* and transportation services. The facility is a smoke-free building; there are breaks scheduled throughout the day for clients to smoke outdoors in designated areas. Visitors must be pre-approved by the clinical staff and must attend family education.

WHAT ALUMNI SAY

To date, five alumni who offered feedback about Chrysalis House to Rehabs.com submitted mixed reviews. “Chrysalis House saved my life. I am so appreciative of the sisters I made and the new life they have given me, ” one alum wrote.

Alum Danielle added “Ive been clean over 3 years now and I thank it all to the experience I had at the chrysalis house!” She also rated many metrics perfect five stars, including affordability, counseling options, facility cleanliness and upkeep, family participation, holistic offerings, likelihood to recommend, and staff experience and training whereas

S.L. awarded five stars to connectivity/visitor policy and facility cleanliness and upkeep, and four out of five stars to conflict resolution, consistency, counseling frequency, holistic offerings, lead counselor, quality of group counseling and safety.

However, some alumni reported a lack of structure in the program and an unprofessional staff". Alum K.E.T. rated the facility only one out of five stars across 15 evaluated metrics and wrote: “There was no structure. The staff was inexperienced and/or over worked. It was all about money.”

On secondary sites, Chrysalis House received mainly favorable feedback to date: 4.7 out of five stars based on the opinions of 64 reviewers on its Facebook page, which the organization can manage; and 3.6 stars based on eight reviews on Google. [1] [2]

On both venues, numerous reviewers attributed Chrysalis with saving their life and praised the staff, the care given to them and their children, and the tools offered that put them on the road to recovery, such as K.S. on Google, who wrote: “The Chrysalis House SAVED MY LIFE!!They provide safe shelter to addicted broken single woman and ones with children. We become a big family with lots of love & support.”

WHAT STAFF SAY

Staff feedback on secondary site Indeed was generally positive to date: 3.9 out of five stars based on 14 reviews. [3] Numerous reviewers cited rewarding work, training received, and rewards of helping clients, such as an addictions specialist, who wrote: “I loved counseling my clients and doing groups with them. I loved being able to see the change and be part of their journey.” Negative comments concerned demanding work as well as poor management support and communication.

FINANCING

The Chrysalis House website indicated that “clients’ costs are fully covered through government insurance". At the time of this writing, the facility does not accept private insurance.

[1] https://www.facebook.com/pg/ChrysalisLex/reviews/

[2]: GoogleReviews

[3] https://www.indeed.com/cmp/Chrysalis-House/reviews

Published on December 2018

User Reviews

Review this Center

Please note: Anyone attempting to manipulate or spam our system or the providers’ own listing pages risks having all content removed.

  • Treatment Effectiveness
  • Accommodations & Amenities
  • Meals & Nutrition
Their expectations are high. It’s tough . They tell you up front it’s difficult. Lots don’t make it. They teach them about consequences. Even girls that had consequences still sang the praises of the staff and facilities. Sometimes family is a trigger for an addict so the distance from family is understandable. Chrysalis House does not just treat the symptoms. The find out the problem that triggers the addict taking their abuse of choice. Who is better experienced and have been addicts themselves. They can spot the lies an manipulation attempts. Unless something unexpected happens I feel my daughter is in good hands.

  • Treatment Effectiveness
  • Accommodations & Amenities
  • Meals & Nutrition
Frankly I was disappointed, as a parent of an addict, I very much felt left in the dark, what started out as on phone family counseling ended, sorry I disagree with your methods, I have dealt with 2 drug addicts, im not exactly dumb, I also feel mixed messages are sent to those that have children, but do not have custody of them due to their bad choices, my daughter begged me to give her the children,im so glad I didnt! since she is no longer there , I dont get court ordered and then you just let her walk out! I just do not feel this place is family oriented, remember drug addiction is a family disease, it affects everyone, I think rehabs tend to lose sight of that, and the staff is very rude, another thing that needs to be worked on, my daughter had many issues going on, I have a problem with dual diagnosis , mental illness needs to be a part of the recovery process .

  • Treatment Effectiveness
  • Accommodations & Amenities
  • Meals & Nutrition
This place is a disgrace. The head guy is a joke and the staff is unprofessional. I would avoid this place if you can. Go somewhere else.

  • Treatment Effectiveness
  • Accommodations & Amenities
  • Meals & Nutrition
Very strong staff. However, structure was a weakness. This place saved my life! Ive been clean over 3 years now and I thank it all to the experience I had at the chrysalis house!

  • Treatment Effectiveness
  • Accommodations & Amenities
  • Meals & Nutrition
Great staff support and has good holistic offerings.

  • Treatment Effectiveness
  • Accommodations & Amenities
  • Meals & Nutrition
Chrysalis House saved my life. I am so appreciative of the sisters I made and the new life they have given me.

  • Treatment Effectiveness
  • Accommodations & Amenities
  • Meals & Nutrition
There was no structure. The staff was inexperienced and/or over worked. It was all about money. Main complaint was the staff.

Official Facility Response

Chrysalis House strives to create an environment that is safe, structured, and informative for each client. We are sorry that you had a less than adequate experience and hope that you had informed the staff of these issues during the exit interview.

Disclaimer

Rehabs.com is a third-party resource for consumers seeking addiction treatment.

We list thousands of treatment providers throughout the U.S., often including alumni and staff ratings and reviews, and Rehabs.com 360 Guides that provide valuable information for people making difficult decisions. Rehabs.com is not influenced in regards to its ratings or reviews by any treatment center or its sponsors, and we clearly designate advertiser relationships with "Sponsor" or "Ad" or "Advertisement”.

Official Facility Response

Rehabs.com collects thousands of User Reviews weekly to collect the most up-to-date information possible on treatment facilities across the country. The opinions shared in User Reviews are expressly those of the user, and do not reflect the thoughts, beliefs, or opinions of Rehabs.com. Per our policies, we do not remove User Reviews at the request of a facility.

Treatment facilities can and are encouraged to respond directly to any User Review, positive or negative. In fact, visitors are more likely to favorably consider a facility that actively responds to criticism (and praise!) to one that doesn’t.

Please leave your Facility Response below using a verified facility-specific email address. A representative from Rehabs.com will vet your response within two business days to ensure it meets our standards for public posting. Rehabs.com retains the right to contact anyone who leaves a review via our website to confirm authenticity.

As always, thank you for your feedback, and for your willingness to work with us as we move forward in developing the most comprehensive and trusted rehab reviews and listings platform.

For more details, please read about our Reviews Process.